11 TH JUSTICE V.M. TARKUNDE MEMORIAL NATIONAL PARLIAMENTARY DEBATE, 2023

Student Coordinators:

Convener: Krishna Nair (IV BA LLB); Co-Convener: Anushka Singh (III BA LLB) Core committee members: Ashutosh Ghag (V BA LLB), Chinmay Kshirasagar, Shweta Shukla, Vinayak Singh Chauhan and Purva Harugade (all III BA LLB).

The 11th Annual Justice V.M. Tarkunde Memorial National Parliamentary Debate was conducted from 20th - 22nd January 2023. The competition saw the participation of 12 teams and 40 adjudicators.

The Adjudication core for this year's tournament comprised Jibran Khan, Narayan Sharma, Lavanaya Puri, Vikrant Dwivedi, and Soumitra Tonapi.

At the onset of day one, participants reached the college to register themselves. Including the internal adjudicators, we had a participation of 176 people. There were a total of 4 preliminary rounds. Day one consisted of the first preliminary round, while day two included the three other preliminary rounds and the semi final round. The preliminary rounds had a wide variety of motions themed mixed bag, love, justice and economics.

Four teams, with the highest number of wins and cumulative speaker scores, qualified to the Semifinals held on the 21st of January 2023. The teams were:

- 1. Robin Ahuja, Debayan, Bhattacharya, and Tejas Jaiswal (Cross team)
- 2. Sameer Hussain, Anushka Naik, and Shubham Mujumdar (COEP A)
- 3. Raghavendra Pai, Gaurangi Pande, and Taera Singh (SLSP)
- 4. Eshitha Pachimala, Elsa Sibu, and Archana Pingal (DSNLU)

The semi finals motions were based on the theme of ethics and morals. The teams had three motions to choose from:

Motion 1: This House Prefers a world where humans are optimistic about the future of the world rather than have an objectively accurate assessment of it.

Motion 2: This House regrets the increasing secularization of philosophy.

Motion 3: This House Prefers a world where all religious deities are seen as morally fallible

The cross team of Robin Ahuja, Debayan Bhattacharya, and Tejas Jaiswal and the team from Symbiosis Law School Pune of Raghavendra Pai, Gaurangi Pande, and Taera Singh qualified for the final round after winning their semi final rounds in their individual rooms.

The finals saw a Panel of 5 judges, chaired by:

Ananya Kaushik Dash with panelists - Narayan Sharma ,Nikhila Pushadapu, Ojas Date and Rajyawardhan Singh.

The final motions were based on the theme of Law and Politics.

The teams had three motions to choose from:

Motion 1: In 2014, the Indian government established the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC) through a constitutional amendment. This would have allowed the government to place political representatives on the commission that evaluates and elevates judges to the High Courts and the Supreme Court.

The prevailing system is the Collegium, where the Chief Justice and senior-most judges of the Supreme Court make the appointments. The justification for introducing the NJAC was to bring more transparency, diversity and involve democratically elected officials in the process.

The Supreme Court struck down the amendment on the grounds that the NJAC would threaten judicial independence. The Collegium system was reinstated with measures to increase transparency (such as the public disclosure of the reasons behind selecting judges).

THP the NJAC system over the Collegium system

Motion 2: India- The Modi Question is a BBC documentary highlighting the involvement of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the 2002 Gujarat Riots. This documentary was recently banned by the

Center and is not available in India. This censorship has extended to the deletion of tweets and

social media posts criticizing the ban.

X, a liberal journalist working with a prominent conservative news agency, has come into a copy

of this documentary and can release this to the Indian public. However, this cannot be done

anonymously.

THP, as X, would release the documentary

Motion 3: Achille Mbembe's Necropolitics is a political philosophy which argues that the state

primarily acts to determine who is and who is not deserving of life. The state's function historically

has been to provide the conditions of life for some, and allow others to simply die.

THP a view of the state primarily as a necropolitical actor

Prize Details:

The winners were awarded a cash prize of INR 30,000 with the runners-up being awarded INR

21,000 each. Best Speakers Award was awarded a cash prize of INR 10,000. Best Adjudicator

awarded a cash prize of INR 10,000. Best Internal Adjudicator awarded a cash prize of INR 2000.

Second Best Internal Adjudicator awarded a cash prize of INR 1,500. Third Best Internal

Adjudicator awarded a cash prize of INR 1,000.

Winners:

Winning Team: Mr. Robin Ahuja, Mr. Debayan Bhattacharya and Mr. Tejas Jaiswal (Cross Team)

Runner-up: Raghavendra Pai, Gaurangi Pande, and Taera Singh (SLSP)

Best Speakers Award: Debayan Bhattacharya

Best Adjudicator: Vani Bharadwaj

Best Internal Adjudicator: Ojas Date

Best Internal Adjudicator: Aarish Khan

Third Best Internal Adjudicator: Rajyawardhan Singh