26th-27th August 2016


The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, established by its parent body the Indian Law Society, Pune is organizing a two-day National Conference on Arbitration on 26-27th August, 2016 at ILS Law College, Pune.

This conference is being organized to discuss the increasing relevance and impact of Arbitration in different areas of disputes and its growing importance in India. The deliberations of the Conference will chiefly emphasize on both Domestic Arbitration and International Arbitration.




  1. Confidentiality and Transparency in International Commercial Arbitration
  2. Arbitrating International Intellectual Property Disputes
  3. International Investment Arbitration: The Indian Perspective


  1. How to make India a better seat for Arbitration
  2. Judicial Intervention in Arbitration in India
  3. Has the enactment of the Arbitration & Conciliation (Amendment) Act, 2015 improved the Arbitration Scenario in India?



K.G. Balakrishnan, Former Chief Justice of India


    1. Salman Khurshid, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India
    2. Indu Malhotra, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India
    3. Geeta Luthra, Senior Advocate, Delhi High Court
    4. Janak Dwarkadas, Senior Counsel, Bombay High Court
    5. Abhinav Bhushan, Director, South Asia, International Chambers of Commerce
    6. Tejas Karia, Partner, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas
    7. Ciccu Mukhophdyaya, Former Vice President, ICC Arbitration
    8. Neeti Sachdeva, Secretary General and Registrar at Mumbai Centre For International Arbitration
    9. Badrinath Durvasula, Vice President, Adani Grou
    10. Santosh Kamat, Legal Head, TATA Motors
    11. SK Singh, Founder and Managing Partner, Indian International and Domestic Arbitration Centre
    12. Pranav Mago, Head (South Asia) at Singapore International Arbitration Centre
    13. Ajay Thomas, Director, Former LCIA, India
    14. Anirudh Krishnan, Founding Partner at AK Law Chambers
    15. Rishab Gupta, Counsel, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas



Faculty and students of ILS Law College, Pune are invited to individually author original research articles on any of the Conference Agenda as mentioned above. Authors of selected articles will be given an opportunity to present their work in the Conference. The selected articles will be published as part of the Conference Handbook.

Authors shall send their research articles by email to: [email protected]

Deadline for Submission of Abstract: 1st August, 2016

Notification of Selection: 3rd August, 2016

Deadline for submission of Full Paper: 15th August, 2016


Mode of Submission

Authors shall send their research articles by email to:

[email protected]

Number of Authors

Co-authorship up to 2 authors is allowed

Word Count

Minimum: 3000 words, Maximum: 5000 words, (exclusive of

Footnotes and Bibliography)

Format of the Article

File Type: MSWord (.doc or .docx)

Page Size: A4

Orientation: Portrait

Margin: Normal (2.54 cm – all sides)

Alignment : Justified

Font : Times New Roman

Font Size (Main Body) : 12

Font Size (Footnotes) : 10

Line Spacing (Main Body) : 1.5

Line Spacing (Footnotes) : 1.0

Citation Format: Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities

(OSCOLA), 4th Edition



The Registration fees is as follows:

Students: Rs. 505/-

Professionals: Rs. 1005/-

Registration starts: 1st August, 2016

Registration closes: 20th August 2016

Registration on First-cum-first-serve basis

Click Here for Registration Form.

Click Here for Conference Schedule.

Mode of Payment

  1. Cash to be deposited at ILS Law College
  2. Demand Draft in favor of ‘Institute of Advanced Legal Studies’ payable at Pune
  3. Cheque in favor of ‘Institute of Advanced Legal Studies.  DD and Cheque are to be sent to the following address:

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies,

ILS Law College,

Chiplunkar Road (Law College Road),

Pune 411004,


4. Bank Transfer:

Name of A/c: Institute of Advanced Legal Studies

Name of Bank: Syndicate Bank

A/c No. 53322010058283

Branch: Karve Road

IFS Code: SYNB0005332

Kindly fill in the Registration form and email at [email protected] along with proof of payment.

For further information contact:

Faculty Coordinator: Sathya Narayan , Deepa Paturkar

Office Coordinator: Yogesh Sonawane

Student Coordinator: Raghvendra Singh, 9764203971