Ph.D. Research Centre

ILS Law College Ph.D. Research Centre


About Centre

Since the establishment of Indian Law Society, one of the mottos is to promote socially relevant and professionally desired clinical legal education. Attainment of the same is contingent on pursuing in real earnestness the research activities. Keeping this objective in mind the Indian Law Society established Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and following its footsteps, the College gave formal shape to its research activities. On 15th July 2011 the College constituted the Legal Research Centre, which was merged into ILS Law College Ph.D. Research Centre in 2015, affiliated to Savitribai Phule Pune University (SPPU) since the academic year 2015-16.


Composition of  Centre

Sr. No. Name Designation
1 Dr. Sanjay Jain Director, Ph.D. Centre and Recognized Ph.D. guide under Savitribai Phule Pune University
2 Dr. Nitish Nawsagray Member and Recognized Ph.D. guide under Savitribai Phule Pune University
3 Dr. Deepa Paturkar Member and Recognized Ph.D. guide under Savitribai Phule Pune University
4 Dr. Tejaswini Malegaonkar Member and Recognized Ph.D. guide under Savitribai Phule Pune University


Functions of the Centre

  1. To Function as focal point for monitoring the entire research activities of the college.
  2. To Evolve ethical code to adhere to fundamental and ethical conventions during research  activities.
  3. To Discourage plagiarism while conducting research.
  4. To Motivate teachers and students to engage in creative and innovative research and the former must engage the latter in research.
  5. To Emphasize on holding student-teacher seminar for participative dialogue.
  6. To Inculcate interdisciplinary approach while designing research projects.
  7. To Evaluate, monitor and approve financial assistance of in-House sanctioned Research Projects by teachers, individually or with students.
  8. To Constitute subcommittees to coordinate research on identified themes.
  9. To Emphasize the need for undertaking major and minor research projects sponsored by UGC and SPPU by the teachers.
  10. To Approve seminars and conferences on contemporary legal themes to be conducted by college.
  11. To Organize research methodology workshops to train students in research skills.
  12. To Supervise and guide students for participation in “Aavishkar” activity of Savitribai Phule Pune University.
  13. To Encourage students and teachers to publish and authenticate the findings of their research.
  14. To Earmark budget for research activities.

Activities of the Centre

  1. To regulate admissions of Ph.D. research scholars as per the rules of SPPU
  2. To administer the Ph.D. research programme
  3. To hold the meetings of expert committees (Research advisory committees) to continuously monitor the progress of Ph.D. research scholars in accordance with the rules of SPPU
  4. To run the coursework for Ph.D. research scholars



  1. In-House Ph.D. Course Work
    We have also designed a course work for the three students pursuing Ph.D. in accordance with the norms under the Circular of Savitribai Phule Pune University Nos. 14/2017. The course was inaugurated on 29th September 2018 with the inaugural lecture by Dr. A. Lakshminath.
    The duration of this course is 60 hours which includes a rigorous training on research methodology in a span of 3 to 4 months.
  2. Certificate course in Fundamentals of Legal Research Methodology
    This course is a must for an academic or a student who is interested to know the ABC of legal research methodology. During the program participants would be exposed to discourses from leading academics of this area along with lecturing method. The focus would also be on interactions and assignments.This course is open to all the students and Professionals interested in Legal research. The Course has 4 modules. Module I: IntroductoryModule II: Planning the researchModule III: Conducting research and writingModule IV: Miscellaneous


Students Researchers and Guides

The List of the Students Researchers  pursuing Ph.D. in Law Program and their guides 

No. Name of the Research Scholar Name of the Research Supervisor
1 Madhavi Bajarang More Dr. Deepa Paturkar
2 Manisha Yogesh Kale Dr. Deepa Paturkar
3 Rahul Kailas Gawade Dr. Deepa Paturkar
4 Mayura Prakash Borde Dr. Deepa Paturkar
5 Amitkumar Ashok Khatu Dr. Deepa Paturkar
6 Damodar Mayappa  Hake Dr. Sanjay Jain
7 Sunita Tryambakrao Bachchhav Dr. Sanjay Jain
8 Prabhavati Baskey Dr. Sanjay Jain
9 Rajalaxmi  Girish Joshi Dr. Sanjay Jain
10 Kavita Ramesh Yadav Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray
11 Manjusha Nitin Suryawanshi Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray
12  Sanjay Ambekar Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray
13 Satish Hanmantrao Mane Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray
14 Nitin Ramling Kumbhar Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray
15 Pradnya Vikram Rajebahadur Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray
16 Anagha Sharankumar Limbale Dr. Tejaswini Malegaonkar
17 Gajanan Shriram Choudhary Dr. Tejaswini Malegaonkar

Submission of Ph.D. Thesis

Following Research Scholars have submitted their final thesis for award of Ph.D. Degree –

  1. Amitkumar Ashok Khatu
  2. Sunita Tryambakrao Bachchhav
  3. Sanjay Ambekar
  4. Pradnya Vikram Rajebahadur

Code of Ethics

  1. Every research project submitted by faculty or the students shall be undertaken subject to the approval of ILS Law College Ph.D. Research Centre, Pune.
  2. To deal with plagiarism the Centre shall resort to URKUND software in respect of research projects of students and teachers.
  3. The scrutiny of Ph.D. research in respect of plagiarism shall be done by the PhD research guides of the college by resorting to ‘URKUND’ a plagiarism software provided by Savitribai Phule Pune University.
  4. With respect to the LL.M. Program, the dissertation submitted by students in partial fulfillment of their LL.M. Degree shall be also scrutinized for plagiarism by resorting to URKUND software.
  5. To adequately and legally address the  issues pertaining to plagiarism the college has formed ‘Departmental Academic Integrity Panel (DAIP)’  with reference to SPPU circular No. : 175/2018 dated on 27/09/2018.  The board has been approved by the Hon’ble Vice Chancellor of SPPU.
  6. All researchers, faculty and students shall scrupulously observe the provisions of Copyright Act, 1957 and the College shall not take responsibility on their behalf for the same.


As per Circular No. 175/2018 of Savitribai Phule Pune University, the College is required to form Departmental Academic Integrity Panel (DAIP) for investigating inquiry matters pertaining to plagiarism charge against students and faculty. In compliance of this circular college has constituted DAIP and IAIP.

Departmental Academic Integrity Panel (DAIP)

Sr. No. Name of Members and Designation Position in DAIP
1 Dr. Shaila Daware (Head of the Department, LL.M.) Chairman
2 Dr. Kranti Deshmukh,Principal, Shankarrao Chavan Law College Pune (Senior academician from outside the department) Member
3 Mr. Togam Madhukar B., Librarian (Person well versed with anti-plagiarism) Member


Institutional Academic Integrity Panel (IAIP)

Sr. No. Name of Members Position in IAIP
1 Dr. Jain Sanjay (Director, ILS Research Center) Chairman
2 Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray (Senior Academician) Member
3 Dr. Swati Shirwadkar (Senior Academician)
(Member from outside the HEI)
4 Dr. Nilima Bhadbhade (Senior Academician)
(Member from outside the HEI)


Important Circulars

  1. Minimum Standards and Procedure for Award of M.Phil/Ph.D. Degrees
  2. Academic Integrity Regulation 2018