6th Justice V. M. Tarkunde National Parliamentary Debate

6th Justice V. M. Tarkunde National Parliamentary Debate


Date: 12th to 14th January, 2018.


About the Tournament:

The ILS Debating Society is organizing 6th edition of the annual three day national parliamentary debate. It follows the 3 on 3 Asians Parliamentary Debating format. It is a semi-open tournament and institutional cross teams are permitted.

For the first two days, i.e., 12th and 13th of January, preliminary rounds be conducted and post break rounds will take place on 14th of January.

Core Adjudicators:

  1. Osho Chhel ,
  2. VG Sreeram
  3. Yash Sharma
  4. Ira Regmi


Structure of the Debate

Day One – 12th January 2018 (Friday)

Brief orientation for speakers and adjudicators.

Demo debate and adjudicator test.

Release of adjudicator test results.

Round One

Round Two

Day Two – 13th January 2018 (Saturday)

Round Three

Round Four

Round Five

  1. Release of Breaks

Day Three – 14th January 2018 (Sunday)

Quarter Finals and Novice semi-finals.

Semi- Finals and Novice finals.

Open final round.

Award distribution.


Registration procedure:

  1. Registration fee is Rs. 2000/- + (18%) G.S.T. for participants availing accommodation and Rs. 1200/- + (18%) G.S.T. for participants not availing accommodation.
  2. The accommodation will be provided for 2 nights and 3 days. Extra charges of Rs. 800/- per night will apply for an extra day/night.
  3. The registration process will take place in 3 rounds. The first round of registration will open on 17th November, 2017 and will close on 1st December, 2017. The dates of the other two rounds will be intimated on the Facebook page.  In order to register, follow the link
  4. https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfHQpTL9ki-1RclhQRP_34jl7VKDVIk8f5AP-OrVQNh6DCD0g/viewform

  5. After release of slots, the procedure for payment of the registration fee and the online payment link will be released. Payment must be completed by the respective colleges in the instructed time period, failure of which will lead to cancellation of slots.

Payment Instructions:

Payment can be made online. The payment link will be sent to the given email ID at the registration portal. Please check the email ID provided at the time of registration for the confirmation of the slot and the link for the Payment from the Organizing Committee. Further instructions to make payment will be sent through the email provided.

Note: Submit the hardcopy of the Payment Receipt at the time of Workshop.


Facebook Page:


Facebook Group:




Contact Details:

(A) Faculty coordinator:

        Mr. Nitish Nawsagaray

(B) Student Coordinators:

  • Rishab Desai, Convener  Ph: (+91) 96 11 14 5706
  • Mohith Gauri, Co-convener  Ph: (+91) 96 11 14 5706


Official Email ID (for communications, queries and requests): debsoc.ils@gmail.com